Town Council

The Town of Plymouth operates under the council-manager form of government. Under this system the Plymouth Town Council, which is comprised of six members elected from three wards and the Mayor, who is selected at large, acts as the legislative branch of our government, as well as its policy-making body. The Council develops the Town’s goals, major projects and infrastructure improvements ranging from community growth to land use to finances and strategic planning and policies related to the operation of the Town. The Town Council appoints the Town Manager who oversees the implementation of these initiatives. The next election of the Mayor and the Town Council is May 17, 2022.

Plymouth Town Council meetings are held monthly on the 2nd Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the Town Council Chambers located at the Plymouth Police Department at 132 E. Water Street.

For a meeting held via Zoom, comments may be submitted in writing publiccomment [at] (by email), (please note “public comment” in the subject line) and the comment will be read into the record if received by 3:00 PM on the day of the meeting. If you wish to be recognized for a live public comment, please register your intent to do so by emailing the Town Clerk by 3:00 PM on the day of the meeting.

The Mayor is elected at large for a two year term and is the official head of the town for all ceremonial purposes, and for the purpose of taking command of the police force of the town and calling upon the Governor for aid in times of emergency. The Mayor has the powers and performs the duties prescribed by state law for mayors of municipalities having the council-manager form of government and as prescribed in this code and other ordinances.

The Mayor Pro Tempore, is selected by the other council members, and is entitled to vote on all matters and all purposes, including the determination of whether a quorum is present. During the absence of the Mayor, the Council may confer upon the Mayor Pro Tempore any of the powers and duties of the Mayor.

Council Members are elected for two-year terms by wards. Two council members are elected for each of the Town’s three wards.

For more information, view the Town of Plymouth Election Wards Map.

Council Members

Brian Roth
(252) 793-9101 Ext. 227
Mayor Pro-Tempore Tharps
Mayor Pro Tempore, Ward I
(252) 793-9101 Ext. 402
Councilwoman Byers
Councilwoman Ward III
(252) 793-9101 Ext. 400
Councilwoman, Ward II
(252) 793-9101 Ext. 401
Mary Nixon
Councilwoman, Ward III
(252) 793-9101 Ext. 404
Councilwoman Donsenia Teel
Councilwoman Ward I
(252) 793-9101 Ext. 403
Danny Wobbleton
Councilman, Ward II
(252) 793-9101 Ext. 405