The Mayor and the Town Council are the governing body of the Town.  The Council is composed of six members who shall each be elected for terms of two years or until their successors are elected and qualified.

The Mayor is elected for a term of two years or until his or her successor is elected and qualified.  The Mayor is the official head of the Town government and presides at meetings of the Council and has the right to vote only when there is an equal division on any question or matter before the Council.  The Mayor exercises the powers and duties conferred by law or as directed by the Council.

The Council elects one of its members as Mayor Pro-Tempore to perform the duties of the Mayor during his or her absence or disability, in accordance with general law.  Alternatively, and notwithstanding the provisions of general law, the Council may elect to have the Mayor appoint one of the Council members to act as Mayor Pro-Tempore.